Certification options2017-11-14T17:28:34-05:00
Why are there different certification options? Which one should an operation choose?2017-11-03T16:26:13-04:00

The CanadaGAP Program has been designed to be as flexible and responsive as possible to developments within a dynamic industry. The certification options are tailored to respond to different market requirements and pressures, satisfy the expectations of a wide range of buyers both in Canada and internationally, and provide maximum benefit to Canadian suppliers by enabling them to gain access to markets regardless of customer demands. Operations should choose the option that meets their customer(s)’ requirements. If in doubt, operations should ask their buyer for clarification, or contact the CanadaGAP office. More detailed information on each of the options is available here. If a customer is requiring a GFSI-recognized program, the operation should choose CanadaGAP certification option B, C or D, all of which have been formally benchmarked to and approved by GFSI. Repackers, wholesalers and brokerage operations should select option D.

November 3rd, 2017 at 04:26 pm
What is the difference between the A1 and A2 certification options?2020-01-27T09:29:23-05:00

Both certification options have the following in common:

  • Recognition from the Canadian Government Food Safety Program
  • Four-year cycle – an on-site audit occurs at least once every 4 years (Year 1)
  • In Years 2, 3 and 4, program participants must submit a declaration and self-assessment to their certification body
  • Could be selected for a random audit in Years 2, 3, or 4 where participants are not automatically scheduled for on-site audits
  • If selected for a random audit, the on-site audit replaces the self-assessment

In the following example, the first participant selects Option A1 and the second selects Option A2. Both start the four-year cycle at the same time, and both are selected for a random audit in Year 3. It is after this random audit that their audit cycles change: Option A1 continues into Year 4, while Option A2’s cycle is reset, with the random audit becoming their new Year 1. This is illustrated in the chart below:

Option A1 Option A2
Year in cycle Activity Year in cycle Activity
2020 Year 1 On-site audit Year 1 On-site audit
2021 Year 2 Self-assessment Year 2 Self-assessment
2022 Year 3 Random Audit Year 1 Random Audit
2023 Year 4 Self-assessment Year 2 Self-assessment
2024 Year 1 On-site audit Year 3 Self-assessment
2025 Year 2 Self-assessment Year 4 Self-assessment
2026 Year 3 Self-assessment Year 1 On-site audit

The difference between A1 and A2 is the timing of the scheduled audit date. If an A2 program participant is selected for a random audit in Years 2, 3 or 4, the next scheduled audit will be extended to four years from the random audit date.

January 27th, 2020 at 09:29 am

November 14th, 2017 at 05:28 pm
Go to Top