Both certification options have the following in common:

  • Recognition from the Canadian Government Food Safety Program
  • Four-year cycle – an on-site audit occurs at least once every 4 years (Year 1)
  • In Years 2, 3 and 4, program participants must submit a declaration and self-assessment to their certification body
  • Could be selected for a random audit in Years 2, 3, or 4 where participants are not automatically scheduled for on-site audits
  • If selected for a random audit, the on-site audit replaces the self-assessment

In the following example, the first participant selects Option A1 and the second selects Option A2. Both start the four-year cycle at the same time, and both are selected for a random audit in Year 3. It is after this random audit that their audit cycles change: Option A1 continues into Year 4, while Option A2’s cycle is reset, with the random audit becoming their new Year 1. This is illustrated in the chart below:

Option A1 Option A2
Year in cycle Activity Year in cycle Activity
2020 Year 1 On-site audit Year 1 On-site audit
2021 Year 2 Self-assessment Year 2 Self-assessment
2022 Year 3 Random Audit Year 1 Random Audit
2023 Year 4 Self-assessment Year 2 Self-assessment
2024 Year 1 On-site audit Year 3 Self-assessment
2025 Year 2 Self-assessment Year 4 Self-assessment
2026 Year 3 Self-assessment Year 1 On-site audit

The difference between A1 and A2 is the timing of the scheduled audit date. If an A2 program participant is selected for a random audit in Years 2, 3 or 4, the next scheduled audit will be extended to four years from the random audit date.

January 27th, 2020 at 09:29 am